I never thought about comics but…

During my MA degree last year I began to consider comics as a possible outlet for the illustrated stories I had been creating. Inspiration for this mainly was sourced from the Literary Jukebox scheme in Venice which I picked up on a trip to Venice in 2010. Here is a beautifully illustrated one I found and kept:

Image

Ferrario Matteo (2009) Buia (Dark)

These small publications have since been stuck in my scrap book and I often thought about their representation of the cultural values of Italy, the charm they have in their humble production and the gratitude in finding them in a location suitable to read them. I hope I have replicated some of these characteristics in my own work.

I have begun to make some comics in an ‘x book’ format. Here are some pictures!

x-book-format

comics_katie_forrester

_cric-croc-comic-3-sugar-paper

Leave a Reply

